Medieval Glossary


A religious ceremony that confers God's grace upon the recipient. At the Fourth Lateran Council in 1215, the sacraments of Western Christianity were fixed at seven. These seven included: baptism, confirmation, communion, penance, marriage, extreme unction, and ordination. Because ordained priests administer these, and because the sacraments are a route to salvation, the sacramental basis of medieval Christianity was a critical part of the institutional power of the church.

Related term(s): Priest; Eucharist
Category: Western Christianity
Added: 08.07.05
Contributor(s): Natalie Kohout
Source information: Hollister, C. Warren and Judith M. Bennett. Medieval History: A Short History. 9th ed. Boston: McGraw-Hill, 2002.


Browse by medieval glossary category:

*Numbers in parantheses indicate the number of terms in the medieval glossary category

List medieval glossary terms alphabetically:
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

Enter an exact medieval glossary term to look up: